There’s been a change of heart in these parts …….

I’ve always been ever so slightly sneary about Boden. Over recent years it’s clearly improved but I still think many of their clothes are of a certain ilk and so are instantly recognisable and this puts me off.

However I’ve been keeping a watchful eye on the launch of their new Icons range which was finally released today and holy moly, it’s fantastic. Something that caught my eye is their Soho blouse £129 in both the gold and black. For me this is a perfect night out top which could be worn just with skinny trousers and heels or with an A-line midi skirt. I love the detailing around the wrist and twist on the traditional pussy-bow tie.

imageimageAll of which got me exploring more pussy-bow blouses as in general they are such a staple for a classic ‘going to work’ look. They are one of those love them or hate them items. I’m in the ‘love them camp’ but I can see why people find them too fussy, almost prissy.

First up M&S – the classic satin bow blouse £35 in this golden brown also in a teal colour. The satin isn’t really working for me, feel too secretarial somehow.

image

I tried this one on in the shop but for the life of me I can’t find it online. It was about £30 but don’t quote me on this. I’m wearing too big a size but it has a much longer and looser shape which would give you the option of wearing over skinnies. Take it from me it’s better in the flesh.

image

My favourite, Julie print from Reiss £90 (down from £135). I love the colour way and slightly jungle pattern.

image

I also like the sheer material and also colour of this deep green blouse from Oasis £28.80. I doubt you could get away wearing this to work without some form of cover up though.

image

Slightly quirky option from Top Shop Delilah blouse £45. Much bigger bow but the lace like collar is very ‘on trend’ and this could be worn under a blazer at work or very simply with cropped black trousers.

image

The voluminous shape of this Pussy Bow in Soft Stripe from ASOS £36 would work brilliantly with high waisted flares

image

What are everyone’s thoughts on the pussy-bow? Not to be convinced or loving them?

Thanks for following

image

4 thoughts on “There’s been a change of heart in these parts …….

  1. Love a pussy bow – tempted by the green one. That’ll distract them during a disciplinary hearing.
    And totally agree re: Boden. Too obvious and yummy mummy bland. But you’re the 2nd person to mention their new range today so may have to take a look x

    Like

  2. I’m not convinced on the bow myself, but that might be because I did it to death in the ’80’s (with Lady Di!!) Am with you on Boden though, the couple of things I have got from them everyone else seems to have bought as well! And I feel the same way about Next. You know a Next a mile off!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

