Same skirt, same problem ……..

image

I did a wardrobe consultation last Friday and what do you know the client had the same faux leather Whistles skater skirt as me. Both of us had brought it in the sale and both hadn’t worn it as couldn’t find a darn thing to wear with it. It did prove to be a tricky number as the tops she tried on we’re either too long or too billowy. After much trying we nailed it by pairing the skirt with a black drape front top from Cos and a gold embellished sleeveless top that worked well as it was fitted and the hem fell slightly below the waistline of the skirt. Footwear wise we teamed the skirt with either a pair of M&S grey fur trimmed ankle boots which the client had recently brought or a pair of high black shoe boots.

All of which got me thinking that I’ve got to figure out how to best to wear the skirt otherwise it’s a total waste of cash. In my opinion all black is the way to go here, any other colour felt too matchy matchy. As per usual I want to be able to style it both casual and for a night out.

image

From top left:

(1) Gabor Lumina black/zebra Chelsea boot £110 – love these, would work with any type of skirt         (2) Oasis embellished collar jumper £45 (3) Jigsaw silk cotton polo neck £79 – could be worn tucked in or kept out (4) Carvela rida mid heel boots £130 – these would be a winner – I like the mix of suede with the skirt and the cut away detailing at the front makes all the difference (5) Mint Velvet crop tabard knit jumper £79 – this would be just the right length with the skirt and so, so versatile               (6) Carvela Samuel Low biker boots £109 – I’m in the market for biker boots and these are not too bad a price (7) New Look fluffy T-shirt £19.99 – again a different texture works well (8) Mint Velvet Bernie block heel boots in nubuck – love the ankle detailing but could be touch high for what I’m after

This has all made me think that I genuinely (yeah right!) have a gap in my wardrobe for more black boots and a black top that will see me through the winter. I struggled to find anything suitable to wear with the skirt. Below is my best attempt, teamed with Reiss suede ankle boots and my flowered sweatshirt from Olsen.

image

Thanks for following

image

Leave a Reply

