More vampire than vamp ………..

It’s a very fine line this Victoriana look that is still a big trend as we move into winter proper. In my head I’d be channelling a ‘pretty gothic’ look when in actual fact I look like Queen Victoria in mourning. So how a 40-plus year old give a nod to a trend like this but avoid looking like she’s off to a Halloween fancy dress party?

It has got to be a question of colour. All black, too witchy in my book, so I’d keep the colour palette monochrome, so black, cream and white with maybe a touch of plum, claret or deep green. Personally I’d feel too much of a teenage, wannabe goth donning colours other than monochrome but deep red nails or lipstick is never going to hurt.

I also find that if I dress myself, head to toe, in a trend or look, I just end up looking a bit of a tool. I prefer to take one element from the trend and then keep the rest very simple. This seems to work well with Victoriana by having the high neck, lace, sheer or ruffle detailing on the top half and black skinny jeans, black coated jeans or a pair of dark slim fitting trousers on the bottom half. I also think a leather mini would work well but that may be one step too far for some. Footwear anything goes really but I’d probably choose either black heels or low heeled lace up boots.

Clockwise from top left:-

M&S Autogragh lace pencil skirt £55, Jigsaw silk front batwing top £79, M&S Indigo lace top with camisole £59, Next coated pull on leggings £22, Top Shop fringe boots £45, Sally Hansen plum luck varnish £6.99

image

Primark Victoriana tiered midi dress £20, River Island cream lace high neck blouse £35, Mint Velvet peep toe shoe boots £139, Lipstick Queen velvet rope entourage £35, Accessorize black resin earrings £12, Mint Velvet black leather look leggings £69

image

Thanks for following

image

Leave a Reply

