And so the alternative is ……..

Talking an outfit with some element of dressing up, but not a dress. So could cover work do, Christmas party, drink in pub. Personally I prefer separates as you get more wear from them. However the downside is that throwing on a dress or all in one is easy, whereas wearing top/skirt or top/trouser combo requires slightly more thought.

Here’s some ideas I’ve had. Word of warning, it’s not the most colourful post I’ve done. However you’re never going to beat a monochrome colour palette, even around Christmas time.

image

Clockwise from top left; Gap slim cropped pants £34, Coast wren textured top £59, Somerset by Alice Temperley open shoe boot £95, Great Plains T-shirt £45, New Look blazer £24.99

I love the tuxedo pants from Gap, could be worn in so many ways. I’ve been looking for a pair of sued block heels recently that are comfy enough to walk in and these are the nearest I’ve got. Ideally I’d prefer closed toe though.

image

John Lewis Collection reindeer jumper £49, Mint Velvet metallic jumper £79, New Look high waisted coated jeans £22.99, Top Shop shimmer top £27, Next sequin pull on leggings £30, M&S Autograph shoe boots £59

We were at a 40th party at the weekend and a lot of the ‘younger crowd’ (by this I mean 30!) were sporting leather look coated leggings, shoe boots and slouchy top. I do like this look but the addition of knitwear and a tuxedo jacket like the NL one above has a more relaxed feel. I also like the mixture of glam and casual. The Mint Velvet jumper looks nothing in the picture but is gorgeous in the flesh, also in a green/moss colour. I’m hearing great reviews about the New Look coated leggings. I brought 8 pairs of various styles and sizes for a mass trying on session. I will report back on this as if they fit and look like I’m told they do they will a bargain buy.

I’ll be back soon with a look at skirt/top dressing for the party season.

Thanks for following.

image

Leave a Reply

