Here comes Metal Mickey ………

Now I’m not usually one to shy away from glimmer and shimmer. I love a bit of glitz, even for work. Come Christmas time I’m even more up for looking like I’m wrapped as a box of chocolates. However even I have to admit that with metallics I think it’s best to choose a key piece and keep everything else minimum so that you balance out the brightness of the metal look.

So the looks I love are industrial metals teamed with all black or a neutral ensemble or even teaming with a contrast of soft textures.

For a night out a pair of metallic leggings is a easy win. Yes they look fairly horrific on their own but add some heels, loose T-shirt and a blazer or loose fit jacket and you’re on your way. I’m not sure on the styling of these  bronze snake leggings from Topshop £22. I’d prefer a slightly longer length. One of those they’re so bad they are amusingly good things.

imageNext also do a metallic legging £26 which come in a variety of colours. They are very ‘disco’ but I like the jean detailing on these and gorgeous colour.

imageStaying with in your face, all out metallic, then this Topshop midi dress £85 is just the ticket. The colour is amazing, kind of Christmasy yet really unusual. This is growing and growing on me.

imageThis metallic dress dress from Topshop £38 is a tad James Bond love interest esque but all the ruching is really flattering.

 

imageMore toned down but very similar style with the front knot £45. This could be such a useful dress, just worn with black accessories would be amazing. image

This silver pencil skirt from River a Island is a bargain at £28. Would be great with all black but I reckon could also be dressed down with sneakers and knitwear on top.

image

I’ve got something in silver but similar in style to this Reiss metallic skirt £130. Wear with a simple, fitted top and shoe boots.

image It wasn’t until I started writing this post that I realised I’d been sporting metallic to work yesterday and not even realised it. Excuse the hair, I’ve mislaid my beloved hat so the rain and wind has got to the old barnet, and not in a good way. Whistles shirt, Reiss metallic jeans, John Lewis ankle boots.

image

Thanks for following

image

2 thoughts on “Here comes Metal Mickey ………

  1. Still got my gold pleated skirt purchased in approx 1984! Looks exactly like the one here, perhaps this is the Christmas that I should give it a twirl again, used to wear it with either a hip length black top or a rather dramatic white leg of mutton type blouse that I had! Don’t have the blouse any more (just as well I think!) but could easily come up with a black top! Just shows there are certain items that you should never get rid of!! x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sounds fab, definitely to be recycled this Chrimbo time. I actually like the sound of the white top, shame it’s no longer around. Yes I’ve got a very similar skirt and after a few false starts on what tops to wear with it I go for either a loose fitting black top, a tight black roll neck top or a faux leather t-shirt style top that sits just on the skirt waistband ….. So many options!

      Like

Leave a Reply

