Checking it out ………

Seems its a scratch that I can’t stop itching.  Gingham, checked, plaid; call it what you will but a check shirt is a perennial staple which is brilliant for layering and so an excellent purchase for between seasons, which is what it’s just starting to become (might be slight premature on this).

My nature I’m not a particularly casual sort of dresser, I’m more comfortable in more of a fitted and smarter look.  However I would do a plaid shirt as for some reason their casualness doesn’t bother me.  The obvious look for a check shirt is ever so simple just teamed with jeans and boots.  However I do think there are other ways of wearing check without looking like a grungy teenager. I’d go for an oversized plaid worn open as a cardigan or together with a chunky knit scarf.  I also like a clash of patterns, so again worn open but over a striped top.  However I think the most wearable look is just to wear unbuttoned over an all black outfit – total simplicity but still fab.

Quick whizz around Next today and they are currently stocking lots of different plaid shirts.  This photo is total rubbish, I look psychotic, but I really liked the colours of this shirt £25.  It was really soft material and longer at the back plus I like the the turned up sleeves .  I’m a 14 and I wouldn’t mind trying a bigger size for a longer length and generally a looser, more casual look.

IMG_1029

These are my pick from the high street, there are still some bargains out there people.

Clockwise from top left:-Uniqlo £9.90 (down from £19.90), Top Shop oversized check shirt dress £39, Next check shirt £25, Hilfiger sable check shirt £42 (down from £70), Mango checked dipped hem shirt £35.99

IMG_1039

Thanks for following.

image

Leave a Reply

