Giving it the cold shoulder ……

Now I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I love a top where I get my shoulders out.  Putting it kindly, my shoulders are big – they look like I do a tonne of weights when in fact I do none.  But as I get older the fact that they are so ‘strong looking’ should really stop me from exposing them but actually my thinking is, ‘sod it at least they are not saggy …… yet’.

So getting the shoulders out is where is at for spring/summer.  There’s the off the shoulder number which I’m a big fan off.  I like the silhouette of a simple bardot style top with a midi skirt or a pair of culottes or cropped trousers.  Then moving on its the cold shoulder top which is popping up everywhere.  Technically these should be a bit more forgiving than the straight off the shoulder number as more flesh is covered up but I’m still not totally sold on them, it may well be that they feel a bit young.

image

So these are my favourites from the high street and online.  Clockwise from top left.  Now despite saying I’m on the fence with cold shoulder tops I actually love this Topshop long sleeve ruffle top £34.  This would be a brilliant going out staple with either jeans, leather skirt or even maxi skirt.  And what do you know, another cold shoulder top that I think is brilliant.  From Finery £49.  You can’t actually buy this top yet, its another one of those early promotion items.  However you’ve only got to wait until later this month.  Can’t beat a stripe, I’d love either of these with jeans and a blazer.  Vero Moda long sleeve Bardot stripe top £22 and Oasis stripe Bardot top £32.  £32 seems quite expensive but the fold over bit at the top adds a bit more support etc.  This more casual, boho Medina top from Baukjen £65 is great.  The fact that its not fitted is a plus and the arm length would work for everyone.  Finally, gorgeous colour and more of jersey material from Reiss £120.

image

Outfit from today didn’t set out to be off the shoulder but its one of those batwing style jumpers that tends to fall to one side and bob’s your uncle you’ve got yourself a off the shoulder look.  Jumper is from Pied A Terre and skirt is another £5 bargain from the Jaeger outlet shop that sadly is no longer around.  Biker boots from Dune.

I’ve only just realised that my youngest has sneaked into the pic.  Its like a Where’s Wally book.

Thanks for following.

image

 

Leave a Reply

