The wedge and flat love child ……

I’m a big fan of the skater shoe.  I’ve found it the one style of shoe that has seen me through summer, autumn and winter.  However clearly others’ disagree and find it the most hideous shoe ever, likening it the type of footwear sported by Kung Fu Panda.  So this wedge and sneaker hybrid, more of a souped up skater shoe is a winner all round in my book.

Granted if you get it wrong they can look clumsy and awkward.  However I find they offer comfort, whilst adding a bit of height.  For work or being slightly smarter I think the old flatforms are perfect with wide legged trousers and an oversized knit or even a suit combo.  They also work equally well in dressing up a casual outfit.

These are current picks.  Clockwise from 12 o’clock :- Whistles Melby espadrille trainer £165.  Rather pricey but you could argue that you’ve got more than just an espadrille here.  Gorgeous moss green colour.  Zara leather platform with removable fringe £49.99.  Slightly Hiawatha in style but I always have a soft spot for fringing.  Complete bargain from New Look, white platform plimsolls £12.99.  They look so like the Superga version only £40 cheaper.  Ash cult platform trainer £140, gorgeous, gorgeous, I love the print and the height of the wedge.  These Dune buckle platform trainers £80 are either your bag or they’re not.  I’m rather partial to the mock croc material, fringing and and stud detailing although I’d probably prefer them without the buckles.  Neon Boots are always beautiful footwear but they are expensive at E219 (search me what this is in GDP but trust me it’s a lot).  These grey ankle boots are  great and they also come in a metallic gold and brown combination.  Finally to my favourite from Pull&Bear, the metallic platform trainer £25.99.  Metallic is virtually classed as a neutral so these could be worn with everything.

image

Thanks for following.

image

Leave a Reply

