Finally, though now I’m not sure ….

Cast your mind back to what seems like an age ago when I spied this off the shoulder, ruffled maxi dress from M&S in a Sunday mag.  Only to be told that it wouldn’t appear in the shops for another couple of months, which is something that drives me mad.  However on reflection it might have actually save me some money.  The dress (£55) has finally arrived in the shops, and I’m not sure if I love it as much as I thought I did.   As per bloody usual the M&S styling leaves a lot to be desired.  To me the black shoes are all wrong and I’d prefer a proper maxi length rather than the neither here or there just above the ankle length in the photo.  I’d also think a contrasting belt together with either gladiator sandals or some wedges would turn this into an amazing outfit.

image

So looking around there are tonnes of red dresses about but in the main they’re of the teenage prom variety, often with a load of embellishment thrown in for good measure.  So where are all the red dresses that are wearable for the everyday but still got enough about them to dress up or wear for work?  These are my favourites currently out there.

Clockwise from top right:  (1) Wallis stripe shirt dress £25 (down from £40).  Shirt dresses are so easy to wear as long as they don’t come up too short.  If the photo is anything to go by this Wallis beauty is plenty long enough.  I like the sleeve length and  the stripes although I may wear it with with a thicker belt which would give the dress more shape. (2) Cos £69 beautiful red wine colour if you can’t do the proper scarlet and in a great fine knit material.  I like the detailing around the sleeves and this would be winner both for work and casual when worn with pumps. (3) Warehouse shirt dress £35.  I’ve got a very similar dress from Cos and have had a lot of wear from it. (4) Eliza J halter neck maxi dress £140.  This is right up my street and has a beautiful tie up back. (5) Oasis colour block mid £38.  This is a fab casual dress that I could see myself wearing lots.  I’d just team with pumps and a denim jacket.

Thanks for following.

image

Leave a Reply

