& A Story of the bargain …..

My time to shine has come, that is time to hit the sales as there are now signs of 70% discounts appearing in the shops.  And the target shop is & Other Stories.  At usual prices I find & Other Stories overpriced.  I like the quirky styling but ultimately its only an upmarket H&M and I just feel to spend nearly 100 quid on a dress is just too much for so, so quality.

So I popped in there earlier in the week and for the first time today was sufficiently sunny for me to wear this full, pleated dress £19.50 (was £65).  So despite all the comments that I look like Margo from The Good Life I really love this dress.  Adore the colours, pattern, its forgiving shape and the fact it doesn’t need ironing.  Worn here with a pair of Guest sandals that I’ve for years.

image

Now I have a black silky slouchy blazer from Reiss which is virtually identical to this one from & Other Stories £22.50 (down from £75).  However this one has a more masculine, DJ feel to it and although I’m a bit concerned about it looked overly creased I justify that for 20 quid I’ll get a load of wear from a jacket like this.

image

There were lots of bits that I saw in store that I couldn’t find online so its worth having a root around in store.  However these are my favourites that I think could all be really versatile additions to your wardrobe, that you’re getting at a steal of a price.

image

Its says that this is an open back midi dress but as you see there is no open back, unless you count the slit at the bottom.  Personally I’m not so sure on the black shoes, I think metallic footwear would look great.  But at £20 (down from £65) this would be a great dress for work, even a wedding with the right accessories.

image

I love this lacing jumpsuit and would have brought it if I’d seen it in store.  Cute cropped length, arms covered and more of a fitted look, all of which are good things in my book.  Now selling for £33 (down from £65).  I do like the nude shoes with the jumpsuit but that would never work with my bunion situation so I’d probably team with with some animal print heels or some sliders for a more casual look.

image

Now this is for those with nada for boobs, unless you’re prepared to strap yourself into one of those bras that goes around your waist and up again which always strikes me as a complete faff.  I think this would look gorgeous if you are going somewhere sunny for the hols – not us – and you just throw on over a bikini.  Great price too at £29 (down from £95).

image

Embracing the fringing next with a really wearable pair of black sandals – team these with the jumpsuit above.  £24 (down from £79) is not to be sniffed at.

image

This mango patterned above and what they call ‘underwater’ print dress below are such cute throw on dresses, plus they are only £14 (down from £45).  The dress is in a variety of other colours which are plain but I prefer the patterned ones.

image

 

image

Now this really is an open back dress £35 (down from £69).  I love the colour and drapey styling but for me I question when I’d actually wear a dress like this as its a bit revealing for work for me.

image

Denim white culottes £23 (down from £45).  I’m a complete sucker for culottes like this, just shouts summer to me.  However I don’t know why she’s come out in her slippers.

image

This Stardust dress was around in the winter sale which probably accounts for its price, £44 (down from £145).   Its a gorgeous party dress which would probably come into its own as it gets colder.

image

I tried this metallic blouse on in the shop and was sorely tempted.  I resisted as the material makes it feel like you’re wearing a roll of tin foil.  But its a gorgeous colour and I may have made an error by passing on this.  £33 (down from £65).

image

I’m a bit concerned that this would come up indecently short on me but I love the snakeskin pattern so maybe one that you need to try on to decide.  £28 (down from £55).

So go forth and snaffle the bargains I say.

Going up to Cambridge at the weekend to collect the eldest son who’s being spoilt rotten with his granny all week.  Its a breeze this only having 2 children malarky.  He’s going to other granny next week so again we’re in for another quiet week – hooray!

Thanks for following.

image

Leave a Reply

