Great load of wardrobe basics ….

I make no secret of loving M&S.  Once you get your head around their oh so annoying website and accept that so much that is in store is not online and visa versa there are some great little purchases to be found.  There is always that little niggle that things are so obviously Marks that it puts you off.  However their A/W new collection appears to be full of neutrals, mainly in black/navy/grey colours that aren’t going to be picked out in a line out in quite the same way.  The quality is in the main pretty good so you can get away with buys that aren’t going to break the bank but look much, much more expensive.  There’s 20% off currently with the code SEPT16A21.

This dress is a prime example.  Gorgeous style and length although admittedly people may not go for the capped sleeves.  However this would be a great work dress for me and has gone in the shopping basket.

sd_01_t42_6821_y0_x_ec_0
Autograph shift dress £55

I love the belted dress trend and M&S do have a more casual version in blue but I’m a sucker for a split and the high neck.  This would be great with a denim or leather jacket and sneakers.

sd_01_t42_6855_vp_x_ec_0
Autograph tunic dress £49.50

Not everyone’s cup of tea I know but right up my street.  So good just with a black polo neck and skinnies

sd_01_t49_1669j_zz_x_ec_0
Limited Edition faux fur coat £99

I feel the need for more cardigans which have enough length to wear as a replacement coat.  I love this striped cardigan with its oversized collar.  I would probably buy in a larger size as I like the ‘wrapped up and cosy’ look.

sd_01_t38_6612_f0_x_ec_0
M&S Collection striped cardigan £45

But do I prefer this baby with the contrasting cuffs and lining?  There are a number of different colour combinations with this one but this would be good for work where it’s always freezing in the office.

sd_01_t38_6616_n4_x_ec_0
M&S Collection cardigan £39.50

Bloggers have gone mad for these shoes and they do look good, just very high which I couldn’t cope with.  However this style with a lower heel would be so useful.

sd_01_t02_7080b_n4_x_ec_1
Print shoes £49.50

I’ve brought a couple of pairs of culottes from M&S in the summer and they have been worn loads.  I really like them styled with a striped top, just not the heeled court shoes – I’d prefer either some Mary Janes or long boots.

sd_01_t59_3509l_se_x_ec_0
Per Una culottes £45

Can’t have too many stripes in your life, love this.

sd_01_t41_5262j_f4_x_ec_0
Autograph striped top £22.50

Lace doesn’t seem to be going away and this vampy look I like for a night out.

sd_1_t43_5627_y0_x_ec_0
Autograph lace top £59

My favourite top so far.  Love the draping and the colour is beautiful.

sd_1_t43_5618_kh_x_ec_0
Autograph blouse £39.50

I’ve seen this spotted top in store and thought, ‘nah not for me’.  However a U-turn later I think this would look amazing dressing up a pair of jeans and heels.

sd_01_t43_5615a_y8_x_ec_0
Autograph spotted blouse £39.50

Basics at their best here.  This stone colour is so, so useful although there is the issue of making you look totally washed out.

sd_01_t38_5027_p6_x_ec_0
Autograph jumper £39.50

I love a big cosy jumper with the cold shoulder detailing, again I’d go oversized with this.

sd_01_t38_6633_y0_x_ec_0
Cold shoulder jumper £29.50

Lots of different colours with this jumper.  Such a useful autumn staple that can just be thrown on when you can’t be arsed to think too much about what you’re wearing.

sd_01_t38_6555_y0_x_ec_0
M&S Collection oversized V neck £19.50

So what to buy?  Definitely the Autograph sleeveless blouse, the tie waist dress, the V neck jumper oh and I liked the shift dress ……… and what about the spotted blouse?  All so tempting, sigh of relief that pay day is just around the corner.

Thanks for following.

Jeanette

 

7 thoughts on “Great load of wardrobe basics ….

  1. I like M&S, been shopping there all my life and agree you need to go in to the store to see things for real as the website doesn’t really do it for me – you find much more on the rails. These days finding l’m buy things mostly in their sales as their pricing is not that competitive as compared with the other high steet stores. Their sizing can be tricky too. I am in H&M a lot with my daughter these days…I’ll be in the home wear dept mostly though! I quite like some of their bits but a bit unsure on styles etc. Wondered what you thought of H&M? Enjoy reading your blog.

    Like

    1. Hi …….. M&S sizing is ridiculous – I always buy a 12 and 14 in everything I order and then return. H&M is amazing recently – I’m loving all their ruffle blouses, great pink one and blue and white striped one that I’m tempted by. Thanks for message ……

      Like

Leave a Reply

